Talisman and D&D

Well the 70’s came and went and I headed off to North London to do a degree in History and Classics. All my board games were left behind apart from my beloved Subbuteo set (still in my loft to this day). As a student I spent many nights playing Risk with my new chums. We didn’t have a TV as a Student Grant (yes they did exist) wouldn’t stretch to buy one or pay the licence for that matter either. Amazingly none of had a car or a mobile phone or laptop either (it was 1981 after all) so how the hell did we survive? Then again none of us ended up with a 45k debt either. After 3 years my overdraft was just over £600 which I payed back in a few months anyway once I got a job. Yes, a job students. I didn’t just swan off back to my parents and sit playing Playstation games all day as they hadn’t been invented either. I did have an Amstrad CPC 464 though that my girlfriends brother had tired of so had a few games on cassette tape for that.

Anyway… one Xmas my girlfriend decided to buy me a Prince August starter set of British Foot Guards infantry with 4 poses, some lead and all the other equipment for casting some soldiers. I still have this some 3o years later and the moulds still work perfectly. The figures I first cast and painted are still here and were intended to be my first step into creating some Napoleonic armies. I cast and painted about 16 figures and then ran out of lead and that was that. I never bought any more lead for years because something else loomed on the horizon and rapidly took over.

TalismanCover

Games workshop released Talisman and then a series of expansion sets so I got heavily into playing that but it was around 1985 that I discovered Dungeons and Dragons™.

Now that rapidly took over my life for the next few years as I bought and painted figures, made scenery, designed quests and even ran a Play by mail game as a small business venture. Players would send me their moves, they’d get the results and I’d produce a monthly newsletter. That was seriously good fun but also time consuming.

Leave a Reply

